I watch, and blog, and watch and blog and watch. It's the Simpsons every day!

Image

MyPods and Boomsticks

Prosperity is just around the corner

Couch gag: Instead of the couch, Bart is there with a chalkboard, writing I will not bring the chalkboard home

Director: Steven Dean Moore

Guest voice:
Shohreh Aghdashloo as Mina

Synopsis: Bart befriends a Muslim kid, Homer thinks their family are terrorists and Lisa becomes addicted to MyPod music.

Discussion: This episode is full of stereotypes and parody of successful businesses. I’m not sure about using a stereotype of a Muslim family being suspected terrorists or being in the business of blowing up buildings, even if they are being demolished to make new ones. However, being The Simpsons, I think suspecting someone of terrorism is exactly what Homer would do.

Lisa’s plot of acquiring a Mapple MyPod is obviously a reference to Apple’s iPod and the company culture surrounding it. The plot seems like a giant advertisement for Apple until Lisa gets her ginormous bill and seeks out CEO Steve Mobbs. Wow! Look at all these things I can do with Mapple… but ouch, my bill! It doesn’t float my boat in any way.

I like Homer’s jumping to conclusions of the Muslim family. It’s exactly the sort of thing he would do although, as mentioned, I’m not keen on perpetuating a stereotype. However, stereotypes are a big part of The Simpsons (think Luigi, Fat Tony et al). Shroheh Aghdashloo is fantastic, as always, and I’m glad to see her have a decent role in this ep. I would have liked to see the friendship between Bashir and Bart explored a little more. Overall, I think it’s a good social commentary on having people seeing people in different ways, building bridges across differences and generally being more open to what others believe.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

The Simpsons Tapped Out Addicts

All Things The Simpsons Tapped Out for the Tapped Out Addict in All of Us

annalawley

Where my world meets yours.

Dead Homer Society

Zombie Simpsons Must Die

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

